Summer Internship

April 25, 2009 purchasemymind3

A little less then a month ago, I had an interview at Tommy Boy Records for a summer internship. It took me awhile to be able to reach them and for them to acknowledge my seriousness but finally, I met with Tom Silverman who happens to be my very good friends’ father. I was super nervous for the interview because I never worked for such a big, accomplished business. For a week pior to the interview, I must have reviewed my speech a million times. I made a list of all of the things I learned in my Viral Marketing class and tried to apply them for the Marketing position at Tommy. The interview went very well. He even took notes while I was talking, which showed he was interested in what I had to say. Because he was my friends’ father, there was even more pressure. I wanted to make sure he knew he wasn’t doing me a favor, and that I would actually earn the position. After about 40 minutes into the interview, I knew I nailed the job. A few days later, I sent Tom a Thank You note. In the Thank You note, I included my availibilty once more. After not hearing back for about a week, I decided to call. The secretary kept telling me that Tom was busy and of course I understood. After all, he’s got a million dollar record label to run! It was after the fifth call to the secretary when I started to get a bit frustrated and upset. Given that he was my friend’s father and telling the secretary my situation of needing to register the internship as soon as possible, I felt it reached a point where I just had to know an answer. After three weeks, the secretary calls me back to tell me that my hours and availability may not be “the best fit” for a desirable intern at Tommy. Dissapointed at this point would have been an understatement. I was PISSED OFF.

What a lot of college students fail to realize is that it’s really hard getting a job without experience. College is not just about going to classes and getting good grades. While in college, you have to take advantage of the resources provided for you to ensure opportunities after graduation. I was able to get Purchase jobs and internships pretty easily but I failed to realize that I am not just competing within my community. When put in the “real world” outside of my small campus, I am competing against such various demographics of people with a lot more experiences.

After feeling very disappointed, I went to my advisor, Joe Ferry to for advice. After talking to Professor Ferry for awhile, he referred me to a company where his good friend works, Human World Wide. They do sign design and music for commercials and films. I e-mailed the executive director and to my surprise she got back to me the very next day. Within that week, I had an interview. During the interview with the business manager, I felt it was too good to be true. Everyone there seemed very relaxed and YOUNG. Most of them had just graduated from college. They seemed very flexible with my schedule and even proposed a stipend. I will be starting there in two weeks! (www.humanworldwide.com)

The point of this entire story is this. I know it sounds cliche when people tell you that everything happens for a reason. When one door closes, another opens and I truely witnessed this first hand. I know that it’s just an internship but this was my first glimpse of the “real world”. Because I didn’t give up, and because I kept seeking other opportunities when I was very dissapointed at myself, I am now interning at a place I feel I fit perfectly into. I even see possible job opportunities here in my future.

I am so greatful to have the support of the faculty at my school and to have people who believes in me. I think that part of being in College has a lot to do with networking and making those connections that will further your success. It’s always good to interact with other students and faculty about career opportunities because you never know who may have something for you.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. annmarie  |  April 30, 2009 at 2:52 am

    As you know, I am sooooo thrilled that you secured such a good internship! You showed great maturity and great determination in how you handled the overall situation. Your relentlessness paid off — and trust me, relentlessness is key in navigating your career path. I was told early on by an Employment Agency that I’d NEVER get a job in the Music Business. Well, let me tell you that within a week I got a job on my own at Atlantic Records! And there was no turning back after that!!!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
